Fairies in a Jar

This post really has no point, except that I thought this is a really cool idea that made me forget… for a moment… that I am not living among piles of unpacked boxes and suitcases.

As seen (and repinned) many times over on Pinterest:

Fairies in a jar DIRECTIONS: 1. Cut a glow stick and shake the contents into a jar. Add diamond glitter 2. Seal the top with a lid. 3. Shake

Are you on Pinterest?  I created an account almost a year ago but never quite got into it (you can see my sparse boards here)  – – but now the product seems to be taking OFF, and I’m seeing everyone and their mom on Facebook and Twitter “pinning” away.  With the “Pin It” button showing up on so many e-commerce sites, it is forcing me to rethink my product photos and descriptions.  Now if I could only find the rest of my studio stuff, which is clearly not in any of the boxes labeled “kitchen” (where I kept some tools I like to clean a lot) and “office”.   We made our upteenth visit to IKEA today and picked up a few MALM dressers for the master bedroom.  We’ll be assembling those tomorrow while the electrician makes his 4th visit to correct yet another poorly grounded outlet.  That outlet just so happens to be the one for our furnace.  It’s going to be a very chilly night.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. noelle

     /  February 8, 2012

    how long does this last for?

    Reply
  2. did you try this yet?? Does it last??

    Reply
  3. Good question. I have not tried this yet (because of the current state of this place), but I’d assume it would last as long as a typical glow stick would. Let me know if you try it!

    Reply
  4. Amanda

     /  February 16, 2012

    How do you keep it suspended

    Reply
  5. Cynthia

     /  February 24, 2012

    What is ‘diamond glitter’? Is that just the color, or actual fragments of diamonds?

    Reply
  6. Darby

     /  February 24, 2012

    do you use any water or anything?

    Reply
  7. As stated earlier (in my post and in comments), I just posted this idea that I found on Pinterest. After searching Google for a bit, it seems this project does not work out as illustrated in the photo. It actually would look more like this DIY lantern found here: http://macaulay.cuny.edu/eportfolios/peacechung/2012/01/16/diy-flowing-lanterns/

    Cynthia – I would assume it’s diamond “colored” glitter, perhaps the clear iridescent type, as fragments of diamonds would be a crazy expensive temporary lantern project =p

    Reply
  8. Pauline

     /  March 26, 2012

    I tried it with two glow sticks and 2 tsp of diamond glitter that I got off of ebay….and the glow stick simply stuck the diamond glitter to the sides of the jar. Tried using a touch of oil to see if that would make it float a bit, it just killed the glow stick effect (meaning they didn’t glow any more)..thought it does make a cool lantern and the fact that the glow stick is like a stick of glass when it comes out is fun, it wasn’t what I was hoping for.

    Reply
    • Oh that’s a bummer! It’s finally starting to warm up around here and I was thinking of trying this for a little BBQ-dinner decor. I still want to try it just because I’d have an excuse to break up some glow sticks and mess with glitter!

      Reply
  9. Angela w

     /  April 5, 2012

    We just tried it, and it doesn’t look exactly like the picture, but it’s still pretty cool. My kids liked it and it’s like a $2.00 project.

    Reply
  10. d tyger

     /  April 12, 2012

    I’m so glad I bought some glow necklaces at a deep discount. I’ll try it for a party.

    Reply
  11. In looking at the photo and reading the comments here I would question why does it not work like the picture? Is there a special way of adding the glitter to the glow stick contents? Is the jar coated with anything? There must be a way to do this correctly so it looks like the photo. I would like to know before I try this not only wasting my time but money as well.

    Reply
    • From what I have been reading on various blogs and such, this still seems to be a photoshop photo. I finally got some glow sticks so I will be trying this out soon. A friend of mine did try this and reported that it looked nothing like the jar in the photo. Perhaps adding baby oil may do the trick? Although that would be a lot of baby oil that needs to be used.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

